Department of Music

The Department of Music offers three-year programmes, 180 ECTS, towards BMus and BA degrees. Students choose between four programs: instrumental/vocal performance, music theory, music education, vocal and instrumental pedagogy and composition – with emphasis on contemporary composition, film music, theatre or stage music, music production or new media. The department also offers Master programmes in composition and Joint Master of New Audiences and Innovative Practice programme. A diploma programme for extraordinarily talented students who are still in secondary school but meet the Academy’s demands with regard to musical knowledge and ability, is also an option at IAA

Mist Þorkelsdóttir

Composition and Theory: Kjartan Ólafsson
Guest professor: Kristinn Sigmundsson

Assistant Professor
Program Director of Musicology: Þorbjörg Daphne Hall


Chamber Music:
Svava Bernharðsdóttir

Composition and Theory:
Gunnsteinn Ólafsson
Hildigunnur Rúnarsdóttir
Hróðmar I. Sveinbjörnsson
Ríharður H. Friðriksson
Tryggvi M. Baldvinsson
Úlfar Ingi Haraldsson

Martial Nardeau

Richard Simm
Selma Gumundsdóttir
Helga Bryndís Magnúsdóttir

Guðný Gumundsdóttir
Svava Bernharðsdóttir

Vocal Performance
Elísabet Erlingsdóttir
Ólöf Kolbrún Halldórsdóttir

Programme Directors
Composition and Theory: Kjartan Ólafsson
Instrumental and Vocal Performance: Peter Maté
Joint Master of New Audiences and Innovative Practices: Sigurður Halldórsson
Music Education and Communication: Sigurður Halldórsson
Musicology: Þorbjörg Daphne Hall

Technical Director:
Sveinn Kjartansson

Department Secretary:
Sóley Björt Guðmundsdóttir, tel. +354 545 2283.
Office hours: Monday through Friday - 10:00 - 12.00 and 13:00 - 14:00.

The department secretary is responsible for student records for the departments and providing information to students and teachers, along with special tasks and general office duties. Additional duties include creating timetables, recording marks, supervision of admissions, handling course enrolment and withdrawals, and course descriptions and credits. The department secretary also records the instructor’s teaching hours and is the departmental contact with the wage office. She handles the preparation for events set up by the departments in cooperation with the public relations officer. The department secretary also helps exchange students in the department and provides them with keys, computer passwords and other practical matters.

Service Assistant:
Albert Eiríksson, tel. +354 552 5020.

The servise assistant is responsible for the facilities, instruments, costumes, and equipment of the Departments of Music and Theatre. He handles applications and assists with the planning of department events such as concerts and theatre productions. The servise assistant also greets guests and exchange students and provides them with practical help and information.

Department of Music
Sölvhólsgötu 13,
101 Reykjavík
Tel. +354 552 5020
Fax: +354 561 6314